You spin me right round, baby

IMG_8328

My RPM cycle computer info! Avg pace 74, heart rate 123, and a trip of 15.3!

Oh yes, 15 days post op and I was back spinning in RPM class today! So yes, I am singing this old tune (by Dead or Alive), just the chorus though. And I have to say I am ALIVE!!!!! I am so happy to be back on the tiny saddle, with my tiny tummy! Even though I didn’t really follow the class, I kept a slower pace than the others (who were going at a 144 RPM, which is HAULIN’!), only going between 60-115 RPM. But I was able to go a good distance of around 15.0 on the trip (no it’s not miles, but my usual is anywhere from 15.5-18 in a 45 minute class).

I was really happy to be back into class, hearing the music, and getting pumped up by Erin and the awesome students taking the class. Afterward I rewarded myself with a hang out in the steam room and sauna. It was and always is my reward. Nothing like sweating a little bit more after already donating a pint of sweat to the spin room (not really, but it’s always a great sweaty class). Afterwards I needed some hydration and some food. I wasn’t “hungry” in the true sense of the word, but I knew 160 calories in my premier protein shake wouldn’t last after that kind of a workout. By the time I got home, I decided that I needed some lunch. Yesterday or the day before a person on Instagram posted about having Wendy’s Chili for lunch. I was all about that!

Chili for lunch AND dinner tonight, love the pureed stage

Chili for lunch AND dinner tonight, love the pureed stage

So when I got home I checked to see if we had any in our pantry. I didn’t think we did, but we had 1 can!!!! So I took the whole can and tossed it into my food processor and pulsed it until it was at a very slightly chunky puree. Then I divided it into my awesome 4 oz glad ware cups, and tossed them (except 1) into the fridge. I nuked it for a minute and then added half an ounce of shredded cheddar cheese. OMG!!!!! Drool! It was so good. I ended up having it again for dinner. I was able to eat all 4 oz of chili without any issues! I am going to get another can so I have a backup.

Now that I’ve cover today, I will go back a bit in time, not too far. πŸ™‚ So I weighed in last Friday and was down 4.2 lb! I was happy to see myself into the 260’s! Hot damn! So I’ve lost a total of 62.8 lb since 2011 and 13.8 since I was sleeved! This week though is the dreaded week 3, which has been known to be a stall week. I think that was why I went to the club to spin this morning. Just to see if I can prevent that stall. I’ll know more Friday morning. Keeping my fingers crossed. I’d love to be down 20-25 by the time I see Dr. Patterson on 5/28 for my post op appointment.

IMG_8307

Happy Mother’s Day!!! Lincoln (in his hockey gear) and Chandler at the Winterhawk Skate Center.

Sunday morning I had the fun time of watching Lincoln play his hockey game at the rink. It was fun catching up with some of the other hockey moms and dads. He’s improving so much, now that he’s got his new skates. That afternoon the whole family, both of our moms and siblings all came over for BBQ Hamburgers and cake/ice cream. I had already planned on taking the baked beans and pureeing them with a chunk of burger. It was pretty good, but I used an immersion blender and I wonder if it would have been a bit better if I had used the food processor instead. I might try it again. I did miss my mayo and ketchup and chips. But it was fine with out. I had 2 TB of light vanilla ice cream for dessert, and it was amazing. πŸ™‚

Tomorrow morning, I have my semi-annual Neurologist appointment with Dr. Smoot. I am excited to see him to see how I am doing on my current disease modifying drug (DMD), Plegridy. I will be having another MRI in June to see if there has been any change to my lesions or if I’ve remained stable. I haven’t had ANY symptoms, which is a big plus. I have gotten used to the injection site reactions that I was having on the Plegridy. I’ve been on these injections since December, which is roughly 12 shots (1 every other week), which seems like a lot to those that don’t have MS, but for those that do have it and have changed drugs, that’s half of what I would have done if I was on Avonex still (once a week injection). I’ll know more about how my MS is doing in June after we see the pictures, but I am sure my neurological exam will be fine.

I’ll post after the week 3 weigh in.
blog siggy

Leave a Reply

