3 years in…

Today marks 3 years into my weight loss journey. I have learned a lot while traveling this road, this bumpy, curvy, long, road. I have learned that it is okay to fall off the wagon, as long as you get back on as soon as you can. It’s good to know how to portion your meals for 1 person, not 3. It is good to exercise, and you might even like it! Speaking of exercise, the best trick is to find something you love to do, not loathe. For me it was Martial Arts: Taekwondo and Hapkido. I learned that the word diet is not a good word, lifestyle is the word to use. This is not something that will be a quick jaunt, it’s a stinking journey and a life long one at that.

Before, Summer of 2009

???????????????????????????????

Happy 2014!

 

So today I went to Weight Watchers, saw my good WW friends: Judy, Cathy, Desi, and Barbra. All of us have been on this journey with WW for years. All have had amazing success, Barbra has lost over 125 lb, and Judy over 75 lb. They are all inspirations to me as well as others. They have all been great at supporting me through my weight loss as well as my diagnosis with MS. They ask how I am feeling every Friday morning, and complement how I look. It’s a nice feeling, a I repay the complement and cheer them on as they get another 5 lb star. πŸ™‚

So after having a relapse with my MS this week, and being put on Solu Medrol (high dose steroids given via IV), I was not looking forward to weighing in. I knew I was up, I ate like a cow last night, thanks to the meds, and hardly got up in time to get there. I didn’t get to sleep until 2 am, and was woken up with a phone call to schedule my next MRI at 8:15. Ugh. So I got up, dressed quickly, and swung by Dutch Bros for my morning latte. When I got there, with 5 minutes to spare, the line was LONG. Doh, I forgot all the joiners were starting this week. So I sat down, said “screw it” and drank my 20 oz latte, and figured I’d gain another pound when I weighed in afterwards. So when I stepped on the scale and it said I was DOWN .4 lb I “shouted” to Judy that I had actually lost!!! I was so happy. It was totally what I needed this morning. It had been a hell of a week and to be down was a great way to go.

So sitting here at the hospital with an IV in my hand getting my 2nd round of steroids (of 3 total), I am thankful that the numbness is going away and the pins and needles are coming on. This means it’s starting to subside, I think. πŸ™‚ If the MS Band/Hug would loosen it’s grip around my stomach I would be a tad bit more grateful. But I’ll take feeling in my feet and run with it (figuratively). Hopefully Sunday I’ll feel up for 30 minutes on the bike. Since my balance is off a bit, I will not be doing weights or the elliptical for a bit. Don’t want to fall down and look like a newbie to the gym (along with all the others, LOL).

I wish you all a happy weekend, and I’ll update more next week. Hopefully down a pound and on my way back to being down 71 again and then some. πŸ™‚

blog siggy

One thought on “3 years in…

Leave a Reply

