Motivation comes from the challenge

This week I’ve been spending time at the doctor due to the right side of my body being numb (think pins and needles, or Novocaine effects). I had this happen around Labor day and it took about 2 weeks to go away which sucked. I am numb from top of my head to toe. What was worse was that I was seeing double on the left. Um, not okay! So my Doc ordered a MRI of my brain to rule out MS, Stroke, TIA, brain lesion, etc. We are really hoping it’s just a pinched nerve. I missed a couple of my anxiety meds, which can cause the double vision, so getting better about taking at the same time at night has helped that symptom! So Wednesday I’ll be having a brain MRI to check. But I am praying it’s just a nerve that’s really pissed off.

I also saw my Osteopath (D.O.) to confirm what my PCP said, and she agreed with the above stuff. She also ordered a knee x-ray to see if she could see anything since my knee MRI was denied (Thankfully the brain one wasn’t). So the results of that were that I have arthritis in my right knee, and can no longer do Taekwondo or Hapkido. 😦 So I am no longer able to train in Martial Arts. Now I am going to be spending more time at 24 hr. I am cleared to do low impact cardio (bike, elliptical, swimming) and need to stay away from squats and lunges. I’ve added weights into the workout mix, mainly core, back, and upper body. My goal is to be bench pressing 100 lb 3 sets of 8 reps by the end of the year. I am currently at 80 lb. I am trying to up it 5 lb a week.  So I might make a new page to track my progress on the weights. But I will wait a few weeks. I’ve known for a while that I’ve needed to add weights into the workout routine, and now I am finally doing it. I remember my sophomore year of high school when I was doing Varsity Track, I put up 150 on the bench. I’d love to do that again! Maybe by summer. 😀

So out of the ashes of a shit week comes motivation to push on. On the weight side of things I was down 1.4 lb this week, for a total of 70.4 lb! My best was 71 before I had the knee injury in mid-August, so I am almost caught back up! Maybe next week I’ll be caught back up! I will let you know how I do!

blog siggy

One thought on “Motivation comes from the challenge

  1. Pingback: I am 1 in 750, Who would have thought | Dropping Half

Leave a Reply

