Vacation!

 
Hanging in Lahaina.

I got to take a vacation in June, the first time away from the hubby and kids (for 5 days). I had never been to Hawaii (Maui) and I was looking forward to it. My plan for the diet was to maintain, but enjoy myself. I was going to eat what I wanted but make wise choices. Did I have dessert? Yep, and I enjoyed it! But I don’t drink, so I wasn’t drinking a bunch of calories, which I think is a saving grace.

Image

We did a lot of walking and shopping, and I think having a house versus a hotel was awesome. We were able to get cereal and milk for breakfast (what I do at home) and had good snack choices (OK, Kettle corn is probably not the best choice, but it’s better than chocolate, LOL). 

Image

The group that hiked to to I’ao Needle (directly behind us).

We did a hike up to I’ao Needle on Sunday. It was beautiful-so green! It reminded me of home, it was even cooler up there! I had 5 days to enjoy Maui and I did! We did a Luau, and it was beautiful! We hit the beach and had some fun, saw the Cliff Dive ceremony at the Sheraton Hotel. I even got to shop at Costco and Walmart (both carried way different stuff than on the mainland)!

Image

A little bit of fun on Kaanapali Beach!

Image

My sister, mom and I at the Feast at Lele Luau on my last night there.

Image

My awesome Mom and I. She planned the trip for the group to celebrate a retirement, and my 35th birthday!

I think our best meal was at Fleetwood’s on Front Street in lahaina. It was a great view, awesome service, and amazing food-this is where I did desert the last time. It was founded by Mick Fleetwood of Fleetwood Mac. It was so fun!

Image

Lunch at Fleetwood’s.

So with all this fun, I got home on Tuesday (late!) and got back to life. I went to Weight Watchers and weighed in and only gained 1 lb!!! I was thrilled with that! The problem was getting into the lack of tracking and exercising. I gained 2 lb the next week because of Lincoln’s birthday and 4th of July. I didn’t exercise and I ate like I was. Whoops. But now 2.5 weeks later, I am back to tracking, and exercising. I have a whole different post for the Black Belt test and that’s coming up next. So moral of the story, enjoy your vacation, don’t feel guilty if you gain a bit, but when you come back, get back on track right away! 🙂

blog siggy

Leave a Reply

